Skip to content

Optimizing camp discounts

March 1, 2013

Wasting time is not as bad as wasting money. Last year as I struggled to create the perfect summer childcare plan, I still waited too long and failed to take advantage of camp discounts. As I vowed to make my life easier this year, I also vowed to find all of the camp discounts.

Every camp is different in the way they choose to publicize their discounts. Some camps will post a discount on their ads but the majority of discounts are found on their websites. We have found that most of these discounts are listed in small print and are extremely hard to find.  No worries. We are adding this discount information along with other vital information within the PlanSummer camp database. I can’t guarantee that you will qualify for every discount but at least you will know about them.

As I enter camps into the PlanSummer application, I do have some advice. I see a trend of early registration discounts. These discounts typically require a registration form with a deposit delivered to the camp before April to save up to $50.00 per week. Early registration discounts should never be missed by working parents because it only requires you to finish planning a little earlier.

The next most popular discount is for siblings. Most camps will reduce the registration fee or weekly camp fee if more than one family member attends the same week. I like this incentive since my boys are close in age. When you turn in your registration or fill it out on the web, be sure to make a note that a sibling discount should be applied.

In all, I have to say the hardest part about optimizing camp discounts is finding them. At PlanSummer, we want to help and that is why we find this information for you. Since this is our first year with our program, I don’t have the statistics to back this up. However, I think I can assume that our tool (cost $24.95) pays for itself if you just discover one discount ($50.00 off).

Stop wasting money because you didn’t know. Use PlanSummer because we want to save you money!

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 1, 2013 3:16 am

    Good information, thanks for sharing.

Leave a comment